My identity

Coming back to school there is always a big hype about what “group” you are going to belong to. Without going into specifics, I see girls lives revolve around what “group” will accept them, what group their future best friends will be in, etc. this becomes their identity. They ARE this “group.” I think this happens a lot in life.

We tend to identify ourselves with who our friends are, what our career will be, how we look, what organization we belong to, what our talent is, etc. A good way to think about this is to consider what your initial response is when someone asks you to describe yourself. Example. I am a college student studying to be a teacher, I am close with my family, I have a serious boyfriend, I like to sing, read, and workout. Do those things determine who I am? No. I am a daughter of the KING! My identity is in Christ. Not in what clothes I pick out to wear tomorrow. Not in what chorus I get placed in. Not in my relationships. Not in the miles I run. Not in what job I will have one day. Those things are worldly and fleeting. I want people to look at me and KNOW that i am different. I am defined by God’s grace and love. My identity is in him.

It is okay to want to look good. It is okay to spend time on studies. It is okay to hang out with friends. But in everything I do, I want to be doing in God’s name. I want to sing because it is the gift he blessed me with. I want to spend time with friends who will see him through the way I act and the things I say.

Just a thought that I want to start the new semester off with!! XO

Leave a Reply

