Knight-thon and cheesecake

The new semester is off to an AMAZING start! I am definitely about to have the busiest semester I have had yet in college, but I couldn’t be more excited. I am finally in all my major classes and am actually learning how to be a teacher! Eeeeeep!! 🙂

I am definitely the kind of person who likes being busy. I like waking up and planning out my day. To do lists make my heart leap. 😉  I find that I am more productive over all when I am busy. I schedule out when I am going to read this chapter, or work out, and overall I just get more accomplished.

A big part of my life this year is going to be Knight-Thon!!!! 😀 Knight-Thon is UCF’s dance marathon benefitting the Greater Orlando Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals. It is also UCF’s largest student run philanthropy! in 2013 we raied over a quarter of a million dollars for the kids. Universities all over the country put on these dance marathons, and the actual event takes place in April. I am on the Knight-Thon executive board this year, so I will be putting a lot of time in along with the rest of the board to make sure that this is the best Knight-Thon UCF has seen.

20130827-171938.jpg f

My official title is “Morale Chair.” Morale is basically a group of 50 crazy awesome students who throughout the year, practice dances, put on flash mobs, and fundraise for the event. At the event, the Morale team is the spirit of Knight-Thon. We keep everyone pumped (standing for 20 hours is no joke) and teach the 1,000+ students the Morale dance to be performed every hour on the hour. It is the best job on the board (yes i am biased) and I can’t wait for team interviews to start!!

20130827-171900.jpg

On Saturday we had our fall retreat to Arnold Palmer hospital (one of the hospitals our money goes to.) Along with learning a lot and bonding with the board (seriously, they are the best) we took a tour of the hospital. Along with visiting the Oncology and Hematology Center, and level 1 Trauma center, we went to the NICU. We took turns going into a very dark room with lots of machines, and were able to see a 1 pound baby girl. It was an amazing moment, and the mental picture I have of that baby will serve as an awesome reminder of why we do what we do throughout the year. Truly incredible!

20130827-171947.jpg

CMN hospitals strive to not “look or smell like a hospital.” Lets just say that Arnold Palmer fits the bill for that! This is what part of the hospital looked like. So cool, right??? My favorite part is Jack’s beanstalk and the castle. It is magical!

Homemade Knight-Thon cupcakes to end our meeting. Delish and adorable!

20130827-171958.jpg

I put my crockpot to use for dinner last night. I stuck a chicken breast in and sprinkled it with taco seasoning. Once it was cooked (4 hours on high) and I shredded it, I added it to a salad of shredded romaine, black beans, corn, tomato, and a little salsa. It was so yummy, and me and my roommate ate every bite!

20130827-171851.jpg

A few friends and I went to the mall this past weekend. There was a cheesecake Factory and we decided to grab slices to bring home. Great decision. Red velvet cake cheesecake, Lemon Raspberry cream cheesecake (mine,) and Carmel turtle cheesecake.)

20130827-172003.jpg

And lastly a picture that my sister texted me of  Maggie. I am going home this weekend, and can’t wait to see her!

20130827-172014.jpg

Leave a Reply

